Home 2017-07-27T18:37:12+00:00


Welcome to IBS-Royal Society Conference.

The 1st IBS Conference on Dark World will be held for 30th October – 3rd November, 2017 at the Center for Theoretical Physics of the Universe (CTPU) of Institute for Basic Science (IBS), located at the KAIST Munji Campus in Daejeon, South Korea.

IBS Conference on Dark World is a biennial meeting about physics of dark world, which is jointly organized by the three IBS centers on fundamental physics, Center for Axion and Precision Physics Research (CAPP), Center for Theoretical Physics of the Universe (CTPU), and Center for Underground Physics (CUP). The topics covered in the conference include dark matter, dark force, and related subjects in  physics  beyond the standard model of particle physics. This biennial meeting is aiming to bring together theorists, experimentalists and observers working in the field of cosmology, astrophysics and particle physics to discuss the latest results, ideas, and future prospects on physics of dark world.

Date & Venue

Date: 2017. 11. 6. – 11.7.

Venue: Lotte City Hotel Daejeon


Kyu Jung Bae (CTPU, IBS)

Sanghyeon Chang (CTPU, IBS)

Ki-Young Choi (CNU)

Kiwoon Choi (CTPU, IBS)

Kenji Kadota (CTPU, IBS)

Yeongduk Kim (CUP, IBS)

Hye-Sung Lee (CTPU, IBS)

Hyangkyu Park (CUP, IBS)

Myeonghun Park (CTPU, IBS)

Yannis K Semertzidis (CAPP, IBS/KAIST)

Jonghee Yoo (CAPP, IBS/KAIST)

Sung Woo Youn (CAPP,IBS/KAIST)


Materials Sciences

Biological Sciences


Materials science

Professor Gabriel Aeppli FRS / ETH Zurich and EPF Lausanne

Professor Polly Arnold OBE / University of Edinburgh

Dr Francesca Baletto / King’s College London

Professor Peter Bruce FRS / University of Oxford

Professor Richard Catlow FRS (Co-chair) / University College London/Cardiff University

Professor Bill David FRS / University of Oxford

Dr Gemma-Louise Davies / University College London

Professor Chris Hardacre / The University of Manchester

Professor Dino Jaroszynski / University of Strathclyde

Professor Aron Walsh / Imperial College London

Associate Director Je-Geun Park(Co-chair) / Institute for Basic Science

Director Han Woong Yeom / Institute for Basic Science

Director Tae Won Noh / Institute for Basic Science

Associate Professor Kwang-Yong Choi / Chung-Ang University

Director Young Hee Lee / Institute for Basic Science

Executive Vice President Hyuk Chang / Samsung SDI

Professor Jaephil Cho / UNIST

Professor Yong-Hyun Kim / KAIST

Director Chang Hee Nam / Institute for Basic Science

Dr. Hyung Taek Kim / Institute for Basic Science

Biological science

Sir David Baulcombe FMedSci FRS / University of Cambridge

Dr. Lorea Blazquez / University College London/The Francis Crick Institute

Dr. Tiago Branco / MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology

Professor Andrea Brand FMedSci FRS / The Gurdon Institute/University of Cambridge

Professor Nick Franks FRS / Imperial College London

Professor Linda Greensmith / University College London

Professor Gero Miesenböck / University of Oxford

Professor Dónal O’Carroll / University of Edinburgh

Professor David Tollervey FRS / University of Edinburgh

Professor John Wood FRS (Co-chair) / University College London

Director Eunjoon Kim / Institute for Basic Science

Associate Professor Won do Heo / KAIST

Assistant Professor Jong Kyoung Kim / DGIST

Assistant Professor Daehyun Baek / Seoul National University

Principle Investigator C. Justin Lee / KIST

Principle Investigator Kwanghun Chung / MIT

Director V. Narry Kim (Co-chair) / Institute for Basic Science

Professor Kwangseog Ahn / Seoul National University

Assistant Professor Seung-Hee Lee / KAIST

Assistant Professor Jeong Ho Lee / KAIST


Lotte City Hotel Daejeon

Address: 33, Expo-ro 123 beon-gil, Yuseong-gu, Daejeon, Korea
Tel: +82-42-333-1000